Drexel residents: meet your new librarian!

New Drexel branch manager, Ellen Connor (left) with library assistant, AmberBodenhamer

New Drexel branch manager, Ellen Connor (left) with library assistant, Amber Bodenhamer

Hello. My name is Ellen Connor, and I am the new Branch Manager for the Cass County Public Library – Drexel Branch. I am very excited to become a part of the Drexel library and the Drexel community.

I am originally from Kansas City. However, I have lived in a smaller community for the past 30 years. I received a BA degree from Avila College in Elementary Education and Special Education and a MA degree from UMKC in Special Education.

For the past 30 years I have worked in the field of education. I taught both students in the general education program and in the special education program for the first 10 years of my career. For the past 20 years I have been in administration. I was the Special Services Director for the Harrisonville School District for 12 years and the last eight years I have been the Special Services Director for the Adrian School District. In June of 2014 I retired from the education field.

In my free time I enjoy reading, quilting, traveling and researching family history. However, after seven months of retirement I was looking for something different to do. I was pleased and excited when I was offered the Drexel Branch Manager position. I have always enjoyed working with people and this position allows me to do just this. I have tried to instill a love of reading in the students I have worked with and I hope to continue this with the children I work with at the Drexel Branch.

I am looking forward to working for the Drexel library.

– Ellen Connor, Branch Manager, Drexel

This entry was posted in Drexel, Library Staff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

