Meet the library’s new Genealogy Branch manager

After longtime Genealogy Branch manager, Jackie Polsgrove-Roberts, retired in February 2015, Chelsea Clarke stepped into the role of manager of that branch. Read about her background below, stop by the branch located inside the Harrisonville library at 400 E Mechanic to say hello, and follow her posts on Facebook which include regular “Throwback Thursday” local history pictorials.

Genealogy Branch Manager, Chelsea Clarke

Genealogy Branch Manager, Chelsea Clarke

Hello! My name is Chelsea Clarke and I am the new manager of the Genealogy Branch of Cass County Public Library.

Though not a native, I’ve lived in Harrisonville since before I started losing baby teeth and I love serving this community. After graduating high school, I attended the University of Missouri where I earned Bachelor’s degrees in Anthropology and International Studies and graduated with honors despite being diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis at the beginning of my senior year. I also studied abroad in South Korea and I am such a sucker for a good Korean drama, with subtitles, of course – because despite all the classes, I still only have the fluency of a small child.

I have worked in the Genealogy Branch for the last two years. Before that, I spent four years working in Ellis Library, MU’s main academic library – mostly in circulation, but also shelving, and even (briefly) library security when they were short staffed for two weeks. I’m by no means a professional genealogist, but I can promise you that I will work as hard as anyone else, if not harder, to find all the skeletons in your family’s closet.

When not at work, I like to read books with remarkable female protagonists and spend time with my dog Gracie, a juvenile delinquent who never met a fence she didn’t want to climb.

In Genealogy, I genuinely enjoy helping patrons rediscover and reconnect with their family history. I look forward to offering the community a variety of new and interesting classes and resources in the next phase of my career here at the Cass County Public Library. Come visit us at the Genealogy Branch!

Note: New hours of operation coming to the Genealogy Branch on March 2, 2015.

This entry was posted in Genealogy, Library Staff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

